Monday, September 11, 2017

A Sensational Opening Night - From Japan With Love Vol. 4 - E.P. Collector

A Sensational Opening Night - From Japan With Love Vol. 4 - E.P. Collector

Expected soon from the E.P. Collector label is another exciting new release. 
Our next CD is titled "A Sensational Opening Night" (label E. P. Collector, catalogue number EPC 2017-13) 
Recorded live from the audience in Las Vegas, NV, August 4th, 1972, Opening show, this CD is subtitled "From Japan With Love Vol. 4" because it was recorded by a member of a Japanese fan club.
The Las Vegas, August 4th, 1972 Opening Night was first released in 2003 on the CDs „No Fooling Around“ and „Another Opening Night“. Those CDs were taken from a different, incomplete source tape. Our new recording is great sounding and, for the first time, 100% complete.

Elvis started his 7th season in Las Vegas with a fairly dynamic opening night. It was reported that Elvis was suffering from a headache, and he kept the opening show short with minimal in-between songs talk. He did not perform his usual showstopper „Suspicious Minds“, but he was on stage for 50 minutes, singing his heart out with a passion and energy not seen since August 1970. Compared to the previous Vegas season and the following tour in April, Elvis was in great physical shape, tanned, slim and full of energy. He was in a much better mental shape too, because his new girlfriend, model Linda Thompson accompanied him for the whole first week of this engagement. This concert is a good example of Elvis at his best, mixing rock’n’roll with ballads and blues, singing old and new songs, and looking great.

This concert is taken from a recently found first generation copy of original audience recorded cassette tape. You may ask your supplier for samples. 
This CD is packaged in a nicely designed digipak with great collection of quality images taken in August 1972, including REAL Aug. 4th, Opening night photos! 
If you have enjoyed our other August 1972 releases such as "Rock & Soul… And Some Mighty Fine Rock’n’Roll" and "Everybody Let’s Rock", then you are sure to enjoy our latest release. 
As with all our releases, this CD is a labour of love and we hope you enjoy it. We are planning another CD taken from those "Japanese" tapes. So stay tuned!


01. Also Sprach Zarathustra (2001 Theme)
02. C. C. Rider
03. A Big Hunk Of Love 
04. Never Been To Spain 
05. You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin' 
06. Love Me Tender 
07. medley: Mystery Train / Tiger Man 
08. What Now My Love 
09. Love Me 
10. medley: Little Sister / Get Back 
11. Blue Suede Shoes 
12. The Wonder Of You 
13. One Night 
14. You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me 
15. Hound Dog 
16. My Way (premier version) 
17. Band Introductions 
18. My Babe (performed for the last time) 
19. An American Trilogy 
20. Introduction of Sammy Davis Jr & Paul Anka 
21. Can't Help Falling In Love 
22. Closing Vamp

Source: Elvis Collectors

No comments:

Post a Comment

Graceland Live Cam

Visitors Since October, 2013