Thursday, May 18, 2017

Elvis - Hilton Showroom Volume 7 - AudiRec

Elvis - Hilton Showroom Volume 7 - AudiRec

AudiRec proudly presents: ELVIS – HILTON SHOWROOM VOLUME 7 – a brandnew CD which will be released at the end of this month (May).

Welcome to Volume 7 of our AudiRec “Las Vegas Series” which concentrates on Elvis´ concerts in Sin City. This time we have chosen to release the Midnight Show from February 17, 1972 and it is the first time that this show is available on a “real” cd. Since there aren´t too many “listenable” recordings from this Las Vegas season made by fans who were there in the audience, bringing their own, non-professional recording equipment, it is more than likely good to have another one that is pretty good in sound!

In his 6th Hilton appearance Elvis received quite some rave reviews, especially in comparison to some critics and fans comments which did not sound too enthusiastic when talking about the “King´s” August 71 engagement in Las Vegas. Elvis did a total of 57 shows, starting on January 26 and ending on February 23. RCA was there to do some live recording and because of that and some other reasons Elvis changed his setlist significantly to the benefit of some “big” and “dramatic” ballads.

“Variety” told his readers on February 9, 1972 about Elvis in Vegas: “This time out is the best one yet for Presley. His format is taut, he pays attention to his songs and audience, the karate exercises are quite vigorous and his ringside kissing technique is like a dozen midway attractions rolled into one. He has almost ceased the pelvic sex symbolism, retaining a wee bit of the guitar’s phallic thrust near the top of his vocalistics … Wearing a white cape, orange scarf and white jumpsuit studded with brass buttons and open nearly to his mid-section, he comes on ready and belting strong. Par for his course is about 20 tunes, big, bigger, biggest, either in his own or the general pop catalog. If he keeps up his opening pace there will be no need for repeat of grumbles, heard at the close of his August 1971 month, that Presley was sliding by, generally goofing off and otherwise acting bored with the whole thing.”

Please be aware that this new release is limited to 300 copies only! Be sure to get your copy if you are interested. Once you have it in your hands, we hope your spare time will allow you to sit back, put your headphones on, flip through the accompanied 16-page booklet and listen to the Midnight Show from February 17, 1972. It´s Las Vegas! It´s the Hilton Hotel Showroom! It´s ELVIS! Enjoy!

Midnight Show - February 17, 1972

01. Opening Riff / C. C. Rider
02. Proud Mary
03. Never Been To Spain
04. You Gave Me A Mountain
05. Until It's Time For You To Go
06. Polk Salad Annie
07. Love Me
08. All Shook Up
09. Teddy Bear / Don't Be Cruel (medley)
10. Hound Dog
11. A Big Hunk O'Love
12. Bridge Over Troubled Water
13. Suspicious Minds
14. Band Introductions
15. Introduction of Johnny Tillotson
16. An American Trilogy
17. Can't Help Falling In Love
18. Closing Vamp

Source: Elvis Collectors

No comments:

Post a Comment

Graceland Live Cam

Visitors Since October, 2013